About Prevtec Microbia

Prevtec Microbia is a Canadian biotechnology company specialized in the development of vaccines and other technologies that help fight against bacterial diseases in food animals. In a world where antibiotic use in animal production is increasingly controlled, we develop innovative alternatives to antibiotics. Our products represent sustainable solutions. Prevtec Microbia is an innovation-centric company that operates in many areas of the world through strategic alliances, particularly in Canada and Europe. Prevtec Microbia is proud to be part of the quest for better ways to feed the world.
$33 billion

Estimated value of the global animal health industry by 2020*

* Vetnosis

33

Number of countries where Coliprotec® F4 is approved for use

10+

We have been devising innovative solutions to challenges in livestock production for over a decade.

News
Prevtec Microbia submits dossier to European regulatory authorities for the approval of its Coliprotec® F4/F18 vaccine
20160218
regulatory

Prevtec Microbia is proud to announce that it recently submitted a dossier to the European regulatory authorities, for the approval of its Coliprotec® F4/F18. This live bacterial vaccine for oral administration will offer a broader spectrum than the Coliprotec F4 vaccine presently available in the European Union. It will allow for the immunization of pigs against both E. coli enterotoxinogenic F4 and E. coli enterotoxinogenic F18 bacteria associated with post-weaning diarrhea in swine. Coliprotec F4/F18 will therefore contribute to the reduction of antibiotic use in European swine operations.

 

Prevtec Microbia’s scientific and regulatory team has successfully managed this filing and takes this opportunity to underscore the support of its partners, Elanco and Klifovet in making this project successful.

+
Prevtec Microbia will present at the European Animal Health Forum
20160122
media

Prevtec Microbia was selected as one of twelve emerging animal health companies to present at the first European Animal Health Investment Forum, taking place February 10-11, 2016 at the Royal Garden Hotel in London, UK.

+
  •  

    Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) is resistance of a microorganism to an antimicrobial medicine to which it was originally sensitive. AMR occurs naturally but the phenomenon is hugely increased by excessive and inappropriate use of antimicrobial medicines and poor infection control practices in animals and humans.

     

     

    Source: European Commission, http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_STATEMENT-15-6097_en.htm

À propos de Prevtec Microbia

Prevtec Microbia est une entreprise de biotechnologie canadienne qui développe des vaccins et d’autres technologies qui contribuent à lutter contre les maladies d’origine bactérienne affectant les animaux destinés à l’alimentation. Nous mettons au point des produits novateurs comme solutions alternatives aux antibiotiques, dans un contexte de contrôle plus strict de leur utilisation en production animale. Nos produits constituent des solutions durables. Prevtec Microbia est centrée sur l’innovation et est active, par l’entremise d’alliances stratégiques, dans plusieurs régions du monde, notamment au Canada et en Europe. Prevtec Microbia est fière de contribuer à mieux nourrir la planète.
33 milliards $

La valeur estimée du marché mondial de la santé animale en 2020*

* Vetnosis

33

Le nombre de pays où Coliprotec® F4 est approuvé

10 +

Nous créons des solutions innovatrices en réponse à des problèmes qui affectent la production animale depuis plus d’une décennie

Nouvelles
Prevtec Microbia soumet un dossier aux autorités réglementaires européennes pour l’approbation de son vaccin Coliprotec® F4/F18
20160218
réglementaire

Prevtec Microbia est fière d’annoncer qu’elle a récemment soumis un dossier aux autorités réglementaires européennes pour l’approbation de son vaccin Coliprotec F4/F18. Ce vaccin bactérien vivant pour administration orale offrira un spectre plus large que le Coliprotec F4 présentement disponible en Union européenne. Il permettra d’immuniser les porcs contre les bactéries E. coli entérotoxinogène F4 et E. coli entérotoxinogène F18 qui sont associées à la diarrhée post-sevrage contribuant ainsi à réduire l’utilisation des antibiotiques dans les élevages porcins en Europe.

L’équipe scientifique et réglementaire de Prevtec Microbia a mené ce dossier avec brio et tient à souligner l’appui de ses partenaires, Elanco et Klifovet dans la réalisation de ce projet.

+
Prevtec Microbia présentera au European Animal Health Forum
20160122
médias

Prevtec Microbia a été choisie parmi 12 sociétés en croissance dans le secteur de la santé animale pour présenter à la première édition du European Animal Health Forum qui aura lieu les 10 et 11 février 2016 au Royal Garden Hotel à Londres, en Angleterre.

+
  •  

    La résistance aux antimicrobiens (RAM) désigne la résistance d’un microorganisme à un médicament antimicrobien auquel il était auparavant sensible. La RAM peut survenir de manière naturelle, mais ce phénomène est fortement intensifié par l’utilisation excessive et inappropriée des médicaments antimicrobiens ainsi que par des pratiques de contrôle déficientes dans les cas d’infection chez les animaux et les humains.

     

    [Traduction]

    Source : Commission européenne, http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_STATEMENT-15-6097_en.htm (en anglais seulement).

  •  

    Sur le territoire de l’Union européenne, 25 000 patients décèdent annuellement des suites d’infections causées par des bactéries résistantes. Ce nombre atteindrait 700 000 à l’échelle de la planète.

     

    [Traduction]

    Source : Commission européenne, http://ec.europa.eu/dgs/health_food-safety/docs/amr_factsheet.pdf (en anglais seulement).